Catholic Family Services
Catholic Diocese of Port Pirie

Quality Improvement Council

Catholic Social Teaching

What is Catholic Social Teaching?

Respect for human life at every level as unique and sacred, created in the image of God and redeemed by Jesus, and as such requiring to be treated with a commensurate dignity;

Commitment to the common good, which is that set of circumstances under which each individual and community has the optimum chance of achieving their potential in life;
Observing the principle of subsidiarity, whereby responsibilities and decisions are delegated as much as possible to those communities and individuals who are affected, thereby maximising their participation in these responsibilities and decisions.
Following the principle of solidarity, whereby we understand that we each have responsibilities for one another, and in particular for the poor and vulnerable. That we apply this principle also to our stewardship of gifts, resources and the environment in which we live.


The social teachings are made up of three distinct elements:

  1. Principles of reflection;
  2. Criteria for judgement, and
  3. Guidelines for action

Key Principles:

  • Human dignity
  • The common good
  • Subsidiarity, and
  • Solidarity

These are the most important principles of Catholic Social Teaching.

In our work at Centacare Catholic, we respect the Catholic Church and the Catholic beliefs through the principles of Catholic Social Teaching. At meetings and gatherings we are invited to participate in a Reflection, or a Prayer. As a staff member, this is considered a special time for us all to reflect on our own lives and beliefs.